Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 05-15-2020, 09:23 PM

Questions about distances and speeds for my 9 Year Old..

Hello all! Due to the Covid 19, I started riding some distances with my 9 year old son. We started out with me on a 29er mountain bike and him on a 20 inch Specialized hot rock coaster brake with some longest 1 piece crank arms. He has ridden on and off his whole life since 2 years old on the balance bike and he could do 180's on the wood floor to stop quickly when I would push him fast into the patio glass door... He did 100 foot long wheelies on his Lightning McQueen bike when he was 5. Anyway, we have been figure skating until the rinks closed down recently.... We did some 10 mile rides then we did a 27. I decided to hey him a24 inch trek precaliber mountain bike off Craig's list for 100 bucks and he was faster but I still did not feel like I was getting a good enough workout, so I found aTrek Alpha work 650C wheels and we did a 40 mile ride. I had never ridden that far before in my life. I am 53 yo and I did ok..We did the second 40 and the last 15 miles I felt tired and asked him to slow down and there was this hill near the end of the ride and I was blown out and could not stay with him. Sure, I had not slept well the night before od long enough and I did not stretch after the previous ride, but then I realized that the 45Lb mountain bike was too much work to ride for that kind of distance. So I redid the shifter cables on my Bianchi road bike that I have not ridden since 1992 and was relieved to know I am still faster than him.... Anyway, fast forward to last week when we were at my mom's house and someone stole his bike and we got him a replacement Specialized Allez with a 44cm frame and 700C wheels. I rode people around on a rickshaw for about a year without a motor and found the taller wheels rolll faster. We found that he gained a little more than 1.5 MPH on the same 3