Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-16-2019, 09:28 PM

Debating new wheel build - rim questions

Hi folks -

I've got the itch to have a custom wheel set built, to ride during the months that it isn't summer-ish. I hate to call them a "training" wheel set because to me, that implies that there is no fun factor. I hope to enjoy riding them, but plan to ride them hard, often, and in bad weather.

My first question is about rim choice - I'm a stout lad and want something with a decent footprint (but not super wide), with 32 holes, and aluminum. I've been looking at the HED Belgium C2's (I have had 2 sets and like them, but they are pricey), as well as the H+Son Archetypes. I have no experience with the H+Son stuff.

Between the Belgiums and the Archetypes, which offer the best bang for the buck? Which would be the most durable?

I'm also looking for good quality hubs with either steel or Ti free hub bodies (Shimano Dura Ace or Ultegra, White Industries are on my radar screen). I'm tired of digging cassette cogs out of aluminum free hub bodies (ala Chris King or my Campy Record hubs with Shimano conversion free hub). Any other ideas to consider, in the way of brainstorming? Phil Wood tops my wish list but cost rules them out.

Thanks -

Mike
Old 09-16-2019, 10:01 PM

I have experience with both archetypes and TB14s, I’d recommend the latter for a winter / toss-around training wheel set. Sure they’re a little heavy, but they look great and can take a lot of abuse. No experience with Belgiums.

For quality per dollar on hubs, you can’t beat 6800s.
Old 09-16-2019, 10:18 PM