Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 04-03-2020, 06:54 PM

N95 mask advice

First, I suppose I could have posted this in the current Covid 19 thread, but since I have questions specific to the N95 mask, I thought I would start a new thread.

Since I'm not a medical professional, I have no experience with these masks. Today, in an act of incredible kindness, a friend gave me one of these masks. It was purchased at home depot, and it says NIOSH N95.

Question 1: Are all N95 masks the same? In other words, is the type of N95 mask used in medical applications the same as this mask, NIOSH N95?

Question 2: Probably the most important question, I want to maximize the life of the mask subject to the constraint that I want to keep it effective in protecting me. Which means, I want to clean it and disinfect it. I have a UV light device that I use to disinfect my CPAP equipment, but I've heard mixed things about this approach, in particular I have seen reports (I think here, but other places as well) that this can cause the mask to deteriorate. But, I saw that Baptist Hospital in Jacksonville disinfects masks with this procedure.

I also saw on youtube that you can steam the mask and spray it with alcohol. I have a steamer that I use to steam vegetables, so I guess I could steam the mask, and it seems that this would be effective but it also seems like it could be damaging.

Any other thoughts, comments, suggestions pertaining to using, cleaning, and disinfecting the mask would be greatly appreciated. Or any other information that you might think I should know.

Got to make this thing last. I only plan on using it at the grocery store, but who knows how long this is going to last.

Thanks in advance.
Old 04-03-2020, 07:05 PM

check www.n95decon.org