Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 09-17-2018, 06:38 AM

Brooks Saddle - Position & Fit

I've never used one of these before, and I'm building up a bike to just use around town & commuting - my question is on saddle placement - perhaps I'm overthinking it because I havent even finished building, but, does changing from a normal road (i.e. specialized chicane) saddle require any changes in the saddle position, i.e. up/down, fore/aft, angle of the dangle?

I'm hoping brooks + steel + 650x42 = magic carpet ride...

Old 09-17-2018, 06:42 AM

It’ll take a few rides. And adjustments. I went from romin evo to b17 imperial. Needed to put the nose up from level more than expected for me anyway.
Old 09-17-2018, 06:52 AM

My experience has been they work better with a more upright position; the wide steel horseshoe frame is less forgiving as the hips rotate forward. So don't cut the steerer too soon or too much.

Tilting the saddle down slightly below horizontal will make the front half of the saddle parallel with a slight flare up to the rear. That works.

There's not as much rearward adjustment to the rails. Not much can be done about it without looking far and wide for a seatpost with extra setback. I didn't bother and just adapted my expectations.

And it may take a long time for the saddle to break in. Give it at least six months, maybe even a year.

Those were my experiences.
Old 09-17-2018, 06:54 AM

Yes, people ride it level to slightly nose up in most cases.

Also remember that a B-17 was designed to work on a bike that has no drop to the bars and in most cases bars higher. I know people who break this rule but they are weird anyway. You will also notice it has far less rail adjustment due to the upright fit and slack seat angle it was designed for.

All you can do is try.
Old 09-17-2018, 08:14 AM