Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 02-24-2020, 05:18 PM

OT: FAA NPRM for r/c aircraft and drones

Anyone here fly model aircraft or drones? I have been flying model aircraft for nearly 40 years. In the last 20 years I mainly fly model sailplanes and I have been a towman for the US F3J(r/c soaring,thermal duration, launched by hand towing) World Championships 4 times.

I really love modeling and it inspired me to go into the Air Force and become an engineer. I love it as much as cycling but I really believe the FAA is going nuts with their latest notice of proposed rulemaking (NPRM).

The FAA NPRM is EXTREMELY restrictive and I believe it will kill model aviation in this country. They want to require what are essentially transponders on all models heavier than 250 grams which must be connected to a cell network before flight with your license info, GPS info, altitude, heading, speed, etc. and the connection must be transmitted throughout flight.

They are also requiring all transmitters and 'transponders' be 'FAA certified' and no homebuilt models can be used and only equipment bought through a 'authorized FAA certified dealer can be used. That would essentially make all r/c equipment currently used obsolete.

Model aviation has been in existence for more than 100 years. The model aviation community has operated safely and responsibly alongside the full-scale aviation world with no problems the entire time.

Model aviation has also been a great way to encourage people towards aviation, space and other STEM careers. I wonder what would have happened if people like the Wright brothers, Charles Lindbergh, Neil Armstrong or Burt Rutan (Scaled Composites--Spacehip 1, 2 and Virgin Galactic) and so many others if they weren't inspired by flying models?

I am working on my comments to the FAA and my Senators and Congressman. Is anyone else distressed about this gross overreach of the government??