Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 06-13-2019, 01:24 PM

Moots Vamoots!

Recently acquired Moots Vamoots. Excited to build it up.

It's a 55 from 2000, but hardly ridden. Bought from original owner who watched it being built in Steamboat Springs.

Ti stem and seatpost. Original Ouzo fork and CK headset.

Thoughts and comments welcome, as I have no experience with Moots. I do have a ti Dean El Diente and will be interesting to compare.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Moots2.jpg (70.5 KB, 1024 views)

Last edited by Bruce K; 06-14-2019 at 04:30 AM.
Old 06-13-2019, 01:26 PM

So its for sale now ??

Old 06-13-2019, 01:26 PM

Congrats you hit the jackpot with that one .)

Posted in the wrong category yeah?
Old 06-13-2019, 01:31 PM

This is the one that was PSA'd right? Congrats on getting it, I wish I could've nabbed it.
Old 06-13-2019, 02:37 PM

Whoops. Wrong forum. Being moved now...
Old 06-14-2019, 09:08 AM

I have a Moots Compact from 2005 (I think). The one thing I did later on in that bike's life was replace the fork with a Moots fork designed for that frame. The handling ability was a notable improvement. It corners on rails now. So since you were asking for advice, I'd replace the fork. That fork is old and unknown too so there is a safety concern. The Moots forks were very expensive when i bought it as they had just started making them but I think you can get them for around $200 bucks now.
Old 06-14-2019, 09:41 AM

I understand your concern re forks. In this case, however, I know the history and I actually like the handling of the Ouzo pros. Otoh, the matching ti finish looks really cool.

Quote:
Originally Posted by redir View Post