Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 10-30-2020, 04:03 PM

Possible 80's Serotta w/ aero tubing? Has anyone seen one before?

So Wednesday evening during my usual scroll through Craigslist, I came across a "Serotta Single Speed" for sale.

Of course I clicked, and I saw this frame in question. Immediately I thought that it was unique, a size I could ride, and worth checking out so I messaged the seller to come check it out and he got back to me saying we could meet Thursday evening at 7.

I'll be the first to admit, I'm no Serotta pro, I haven't owned one, not for lack of want, but primarily, I am too cheap and haven't scored one.. yet. So I had to start doing some research to see just what this bike is. Problem being, I couldn't find one just like it. Which made me suspect this wasn't a Serotta after all, but maybe a repainted frame with Serotta decals.

I knew it had aero tubing and started to search for bikes with AX components since the two go fairly hand in hand. But even searching for these bikes, I couldn't find anything remotely close when I was looking at the seat cluster.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mystery frame 1.jpg (54.1 KB, 762 views)
File Type: jpg mystery frame 2.jpg (33.1 KB, 761 views)
Old 10-30-2020, 04:11 PM

Part 2/3

The closest thing I could find was the Shimano bike they used in the catalog which looked like it had the same unusual seat cluster:
http://theflyingwheel.blogspot.com/2...ogun-aero.html

Plenty of speculation on my part, was this the Lotus Super Aero or a Tsunoda, or a Norta? I tapped out. I started a thread with our friends over at BikeForums Classic and Vintage:
https://www.bikeforums.net/classic-v...l#post21768227