Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 10-25-2020, 12:17 AM

What's the best shape for a handlebar bag?

There are several handlebar bag shapes on the market-- the cylindrical shape like the Road Runner and Rickshaw/Ornot bags, square bags of various kinds (Yanco/Route Works etc), and triangular bags like the Topo Designs. Setting aside any other feedback on these bags as examples, what's the best shape for a handlebar bag of this type and why?

Put another way, if I was to make three bags with identical features and cubic inch space, which shape would be most functional and easy to manage?
Old 10-25-2020, 05:43 AM

I prefer the cylindrical shaped bags like the roadrunner burrito supreme for the riding I do. No need for a rack, stable while riding and can fit all I really need for the entire day. I have been using one for a couple of years now with zero complaints and it is also relatively lightweight.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 10-25-2020, 06:43 AM

similarly^ I am liking a Swift Bandito bag. Carries some stuff, easy to remove, no rack needed, doesn’t close out the bar top hand position.

Instagram
Old 10-25-2020, 07:17 AM

The prime metric, aesthetics, place cylindrical bags as most pleasing to the shape of the bike and rider. However, the bags also have the best combination of space, efficiency, and mounting security. IME, this is the only bag shape that disappears as you ride.

The square/rectangle bags always sit too high and due to their mounting solution, they are extra floppy both on the bike and for things inside the bag. The bag is basically attached to the bike with a spring. The saving grace is access, if the bag opens away from the rider, the bag will have the best access of any design - the REI Link bag is the best design I've seen for this.