Know the rules The Paceline Forum Builder's Spotlight

Go Back   The Paceline Forum > General Discussion

Old 08-18-2024, 02:13 PM

Quick question for the MTBers.

My daughter seems to like riding in the dirt. So…time to build up my MTB again. I’m a complete noob when it comes to this stuff. (Frankly, I’m not much better when it comes to road bike technology).

I ride mostly fire roads. We have plenty of them here in the Bay Area. Long climbs to epic views. Of course, what goes up… So, with that in mind do I need two piston or four piston brakes? Is it frame dependent (2012 Alliance Ti hardtail) Or rider dependent? (195 lbs roughly)

Thanks for any feedback.
Old 08-18-2024, 02:34 PM

4 pot front / 2 pot rear seems to be a good balance of weight/cost/stopping power, but, all that said if you can score a set of shimano SLX or XT brakes for cheap (there always seems to be sales) either configuration will be fine.

Dont forget about rotor size either, 180 (front) and 160 (rear) is pretty common.
Old 08-18-2024, 02:42 PM

I’ve two piston SLX brakes with 180/160 rotors on my down country full suspension bike and never felt it lacked any power.

Hope has this chart for recommended brakes by weight and the type of riding:
https://www.hopetech.com/products/br...lection-guide/

Last edited by Likes2ridefar; 08-18-2024 at 02:45 PM.
Old 08-18-2024, 02:43 PM

Second vote for 4-pot front, 2-pot rear. Saves a few grams over 4-pot all around. And the 4-pot gives you a bit more power and consistency on longer descents.

Last gen SRAM brakes were on sale not long ago. I snagged Guide Ultimate front and Level Ultimate rears for a heavy discount a few weeks ago.

SLX from Shimano is a good budget option. Or XT for a few more dollars.

The current SRAM brakes are nice. Redesigned the lines to stay closer to bar - better for bar bags; looks clean. But not likely to be on sale.
Old 08-18-2024, 02:53 PM
n - 1