The Paceline Forum

The Paceline Forum (https://forums.thepaceline.net/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://forums.thepaceline.net/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   OT: car repair - seized bolts (ideas welcome) (https://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=235907)

FastforaSlowGuy 03-27-2019 06:14 AM

OT: car repair - seized bolts (ideas welcome)

Lots of folks here seem into car repair so I thought I’d hunt for some ideas. I’m trying to change pads and rotors on my new to me BMW 550i. I’m not a pro but I’m not totally green at this. Everything is stuck. I spent 2 hours last night fighting every bolt on the first wheel. Lug bolts, hub, rotor screw, calipers...everything is seized up. I was ultimately stymied when the caliper bolts just wouldn’t budge. I don’t have a lift so I’m limited to what I can do with WD40 and a 10” breaker bar (tight spaces in the wheel well). Even getting the wheel off was a pain as it had seized to the hub. Lots of salt up here in Massachusetts, so I think it’s just corrosion making life difficult. Anyone have tips for besides “take it to a shop”? I really prefer not to spend the money to pay someone to do what I’m perfectly capable of doing.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sitzmark 03-27-2019 06:32 AM

Impact wrench would be a big help. Rent one?

For greater leverage with breaker bar, turn wheel to see if you can use longer bar extending outside of wheel well. Salt sux.

PS - use stands and don't take chances!

unterhausen 03-27-2019 06:32 AM

heat has always worked for me. Rust gets slippery when it's hot. MAPP cylinder on a propane torch

I once had to get a bigger impact wrench to work on a friend's car. I had the cheapest one They sell electric ones, but they have limited torque

mktng 03-27-2019 06:34 AM

heat for the stuff under and behind. large breaker bar for the lug nuts ( get some anti-seize )