The Paceline Forum

The Paceline Forum (https://forums.thepaceline.net/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://forums.thepaceline.net/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   DT Swiss rims - what are they thinking??? (https://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=126685)

Louis 04-02-2013 08:21 PM

It takes two to tango. Is the tire the correct size for that rim?

(I didn't bother to see if that was mentioned above.)

dustyrider 04-02-2013 08:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Louis (Post 1323567)
It takes two to tango. Is the tire the correct size for that rim?

(I didn't bother to see if that was mentioned above.)

650b.......:confused:

JEMM 04-02-2013 08:42 PM

gp4000s

Black Dog 04-02-2013 08:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fourflys (Post 1317514)
who has a freezer that big?? :eek:

I do...It's called Canada! :fight:

67-59 04-02-2013 10:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Louis (Post 1323567)
It takes two to tango. Is the tire the correct size for that rim?

(I didn't bother to see if that was mentioned above.)

Yes, it is.

oldpotatoe 04-03-2013 08:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 67-59 (Post 1323668)
Yes, it is.

Trusting that you know how to put tires on...yep, DT rims can be challenging but I haven't seen any that were not possible..build hundred 465/415 plus or minus.

I'd say warranty them.

BTW-I sell more Conti GP and such than any other tire and yes, you can put them onto a DT 415/465 rim, w/o tools, just palming it on. Tough but possible..for the below post.

schneiderrd 04-03-2013 06:20 PM

Loose the GP4000 and get some vredesteins or Schwalbes.

Lazer 04-05-2013 06:35 AM

I roll Conti tyres on DT rims using only my thumbs, all day. Man up.

cycling.james 04-08-2013 07:10 AM

Just to offer some moral support here: the same thing happened to me. I got a set of wheels built up with the 465s and for the life of me couldn't mount tires on them. I tried 3 or 4 different brands of tire (both new and used) and could not mount a tire without extreme exertion over a long period of time, to an extent that I wasn't comfortable with the idea of changing the wheel if I had gotten a flat.

The strangest part is that I had previously had another set of wheels with 465 rims and had no trouble mounting tires at all. I wonder if they slightly changed the dimensions of the rim in the past year or so. I know this doesn't offer any help, but at least you know you're not alone.

Ralph 04-08-2013 07:38 AM

I have some old sharader valve 700 C wheels left over from the 80's with rims that seem a little more forgiving.....and it doesn't matter if I scratch them up with tire levers, ec. Can get cheap tubes at Walmart if necessary. I use them to stretch new tires. Helps me with problems you guys are describing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.