The Paceline Forum

The Paceline Forum (https://forums.thepaceline.net/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://forums.thepaceline.net/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   New Yorker humor: When a cyclist says, "On your left" (https://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=276205)

fiamme red 11-20-2021 06:51 PM

New Yorker humor: When a cyclist says, "On your left"

https://www.newyorker.com/humor/dail...s-on-your-left

Indy 11-20-2021 07:19 PM

LOL :bike:

I think this explains all the sleepy pedestrians I keep running into.

From now on, I will just yell “Go to your right”

Mark McM 11-20-2021 07:38 PM

Along the same lines, when you say to someone, "Don't look behind you," the first thing most people do is look behind them.

dgauthier 11-20-2021 09:42 PM

When I started riding and sharing a bike path with joggers and skaters, I very quickly realized no one but other road cyclists knows what "On your left" means. Upon hearing it, everyone moves to the left.

I found if I said "Coming up behind you on your left," people would actually move to the right.

One day I was passing a cyclist who looked to be in his eighties and said my usual, "Coming up behind you on your left!"

To which he responded, "Don't write me a damn novel! Just say on your left!"

XXtwindad 11-20-2021 09:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dgauthier (Post 3013680)
When I started riding and sharing a bike path with joggers and skaters, I very quickly realized no one but other road cyclists knows what "On your left" means. Upon hearing it, everyone moves to the left.

I found if I said "Coming up behind you on your left," people would actually move to the right.

One day I was passing a cyclist who looked to be in his eighties and said my usual, "Coming up behind you on your left!"

To which he responded, "Don't write me a damn novel! Just say on your left!"

Love it!!!

vav 11-20-2021 10:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dgauthier (Post 3013680)