PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Waterford 2200

nighthawk
11-21-2011, 10:16 AM
I'm trying to pick up a new frame for my lady friend, and found a sweet Waterford 2200. The frame is in great shape, but built up with shimano sora components (which I'll undoubtedly replace).. I'm getting the complete bike for only $400. It is my girlfriends size, but the waterford has 650 wheels, and to this point she has been riding 700's...

Wondering if anyone has any advice on any potential complications with the switch to 650... or if that would affect any other components measurements when I go to replace the rest of the components...

I have zero experience with 650 wheels.. so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Ken Robb
11-21-2011, 10:28 AM
I think the smaller wheels are used on very small frames to avoid some geometry compromises that would be necessary if 700 wheels were used. Obviously the variety of tires is limited in the 650 size.
The folks at Waterford might be happy to give you a short briefing on pros/cons as they have been very nice to me when I had questions about a used bike I bought.

palincss
11-21-2011, 11:11 AM
It is my girlfriends size, but the waterford has 650 wheels, and to this point she has been riding 700's...

Wondering if anyone has any advice on any potential complications with the switch to 650... or if that would affect any other components measurements when I go to replace the rest of the components...

1. It's 650C, not 650 -- otherwise you might end up in a confusion with 650B, another 26" size, but vastly different. Probably best to refer to it by bead seat diameter, ISO 571. No chance of confusion that way.

2. Biggest complication is you're going to have to get different sized tubes and tires.

oldpotatoe
11-21-2011, 11:28 AM