PDA

View Full Version : Amazon Kindle Fire

93legendti
11-16-2011, 05:36 PM
Anyone ordering the new Kindle Fire?

gomango
11-16-2011, 06:08 PM
One on pre-order.

I am a teacher, and iPads are spendy in our circles.

I want to see what it does and doesn't do for a couple hundred.

Fixed
11-16-2011, 06:12 PM
that or the rumored i pad mini
my xmas gift to me
cheers

bart998
11-16-2011, 06:56 PM
On my Christmas list...

tannhauser
11-16-2011, 07:28 PM
Not. Amazon uses a Droid browser that intercepts browsing history.

That is, so Google doesn't get it.

Not that I want Google to spoon feed me either.

rbtmcardle
11-16-2011, 07:44 PM
Have a kindle and a laptop and a smartphone.. all of which I can read my kindle books on.. only wish the kindle was backlit.. cant justify another gadget nor can I justify an Ipad..

after all the electronic gadgets.. my daytimer datebook and a good old fashioned book still feel best..

93legendti
11-16-2011, 07:57 PM
I ordered one to see what it's about...the price is very attractive

itsflantastic
11-16-2011, 08:05 PM
that or the rumored i pad mini
my xmas gift to me
cheers

isn't an ipad mini an ipod touch?

tannhauser
11-16-2011, 08:17 PM
isn't an ipad mini an ipod touch?

Women's hygiene product.

itsflantastic
11-16-2011, 08:22 PM
Women's hygiene product.

ha! i've never heard this joke. :rolleyes:

JMerring
11-16-2011, 08:57 PM
walt mossberg didn't give the kindle fire a very good review at all, though he is a bit of an apple fanboy (hard not to be when you use apple products, however, and i sure did try my hardest to not like them). his review can be summed up thusly: half the tablet for half the price. ymmv, of course.

crownjewelwl
11-16-2011, 09:11 PM
I have an ipad too. The kindle is what the blackberry playbook should've been. But Rimm used its own OS instead of android. It is half the size of the ipad so it is easier to hold and use. I think it'll be the only tablet that can compete with apple.