PDA

View Full Version : Im a lousy mechanic!

tuscanyswe
11-14-2011, 08:14 PM
So im building up my new bike today :)

I started this thinking ill get it build up in time for evening. This was 2pm. Now its 3am and i refuse to give up.

The Jagwire cables were a mess and took me 2hours to cut and set up properly with those damn cantis. Have a mentioned i hate cantis? I really do, they better stop me good or ill do something to them!

My new paul chainkeeper decided not to work with campy ut with small ring in big ring spot cause then it hits the crank arm since so narrow in the outer poss as low down as a 39. So ill be getting a new solution for that.

This is my first 11s setup. So far i have no more gears than on my other campy bikes. Maybe i dont need that 11s gear? 10 is plenty but it doesent feel right when the printed logo says 11!

My chain is skipping in the front. Seem to only be happening when the ring picks up the chain where the chainbolt is in the arm on the ut cranks. Perhaps i need to take it off again and see if ring is bent or something. I dunno, seemed straight going on. Maybe i bent it when i dropped a tool on of the 100s times so far this evening.

Did i mention i decided to do this without a bikestand. Working on your bike on the floor with poor lights in the hallway is a great way to learn anger management. Im regretting the decision to do this without one abit now. Im thinking had i brought it i might had a chance to have something to eat, dinner maybe. That would have been nice. Im hungry!

Oh well Atleast it looks good, right!

Man it better work proper tomorrow!!! :)

ultraman6970
11-14-2011, 08:18 PM
If makes you feel better, I do have a stand but i barely use it because of space.

Good luck with the built.

wc1934
11-14-2011, 08:26 PM
Good luck - you'll get thru it and will be proud of your accomplishment - you sound like me - everything seems to take ten times longer than originally planned and something always goes wrong.

tuscanyswe