PDA

View Full Version : OT: Job Changes

c-record
11-01-2011, 11:33 AM
The general tone of change and difficulty popping up in some of the forum threads and the culture at work post got me wondering... With whatever stage of your professional careers forumites are in, what would you have done differently?

e.g. If I'm middle of my career in business and wish I would have done health care or something. What is your situation and are you happy with your choices? Tell me the whys and why nots please. Anyone have any cool major career change decisions and how did those situations turn out? Thanks.

Joachim
11-01-2011, 11:51 AM
I work as a scientist/principle investigator in pharmacology and biochemistry at an academic medical/research hospital. Given the current state of research funding from the government, or rather lack thereof, I might have added a MD degree to my education, if I would do it differently. Not for the financial reward, but for the number of opportunities that are out there for MD/PhD's.... If the NIH funding continue to spiral downwards I might end up doing something totally different, like start my own supplement company.

eddief
11-01-2011, 11:55 AM
you could easily merge your biz backgound with the incredible ops in healthcare. or if not too late, do a complete retool and do healthcare.

Aaron O
11-01-2011, 12:37 PM
I spent too many years trying to be what I'm not - cool and hip. I spent too long trying to be an academic and too many years fighting "the system". If I had it all to do over again, I'd have treated school like what it was - a job - not worried about social stuff and focused less on hobbies. I would have done law school when it made more sense...or maybe gone for a CPA...and gone after security and life style more quickly.