PDA

View Full Version : Why can't I no hand ride my cross bike?

konstantkarma
10-31-2011, 08:51 AM
I have been riding racing or touring style road bikes for 35 years (yes I am old!). I have had many bicycles, and have been able to ride no handed on all of them. In fact I have become very comfortable riding this way, and as I have gotten older I have used the no hand position to stretch out my cranky lower back during rides. This has worked pretty well for me.

These days my main bike is my fantastic Serotta Concours, which rides beautifully. I can crank no handed on this bike with no problems..up hills, down hills, to remove a jacket, to grab a bite to eat from my jersey pockets etc. I Recently built up a Gunnar Crosshairs for some dirt and chip seal riding. I really like the bike, but can not ride it no handed. When I do it trails right or left and I have to grab the bars to stay upright. The biggest problem with this is that I can not stretch out my lower back while riding, and have to stop to stretch. I have made most of the contact points (seat hight, reach etc.) as close as possible between the Gunnar and my other bikes.

Here are the differences that may be affecting my no handed ability, as I see them.

1. bigger bike. The Gunnar is a 56, and all of my other bikes are 54 or 55 and stock geometry. However, the Gunnar is not too big for me, and is comfortable otherwise.

2. Longer chainstays. Being a cross bike the Gunnar has 43 cm chainstays, whereas the road specific bikes all have shorter stays.

3. bottom bracket drop? I do not think tat this is a factor since it is a pretty common 7 cm drop.

4. Longer trail? The Gunnar has 6 cm of trail, I do not know how standard this is.

5. For Rake? I do not think that this is the issue because it is a pretty pedestrian 43 on the Gunnar, although a Winwood cross fork was added by the previous owner, and I do not know the rake of this fork.