PDA

View Full Version : Bib shorts report

LouDeeter
10-19-2011, 01:26 PM
I don't know what prompted me to write this. Perhaps it was the lumps in the pad of the Castelli shorts I wore yesterday or the rough inside of the thigh area on the Pearl Izumi shorts I wore today. I've been wearing bibs for over 20 years For the past ten years, I've lived in Florida and typically ride 240 days a year with a good rotation on the 15 or so pairs of bib shorts I own. This report is based on only those brands that I own at least two pair. It isn't scientific as I have no record of exactly how many times each was worn. They were all washed in the washer with cold water and regular detergent and line dried.

Assos: One pair has started to show some pulling of fabric where the pad meets the lycra. About three threads are pulled enough to see skin--may 1-2mm. No thinning in the back and they are still very comfortable.

Pearl Izumi: One pair is starting to show roughness on the outer lycra between the thighs where it rubs against the saddle. No thinning in the back and they are still comfortable. One set of straps has started to lose elasticity and curl.

Verge: From Richard Sachs. All in good shape with no wear in back. Still comfortable.

Castelli: All have the Y2K Progetto pad or a version of it. Three pair have thinned enough in the back that I can no longer wear them on the road so they are relegated to spinning classes with gym shorts over them. One pad has lumps inside the pad like it is disintegrating. Comfortable, but not as good from a longevity standpoint as the others.

DiMarchi: Two sets have worn through the outside of the pad in back and are now relegated to spinning classes.

Of the others I have only one set of, the Campagnolo branded shorts are the worst condition, having torn where the pad meets the lycra and the straps are tearing as well. They have been used for spinning, but are about to get tossed.

I'm enjoying a set of Hincapie but have only had them a year.