PDA

View Full Version : Somewhat OT--selling a car

flydhest
09-22-2011, 04:35 PM
Anyone have good advice on selling a car? I have never sold a car before. My first car, after I graduated college, got totaled as I was finishing grad school. The insurance money went to buying a new car. That car, five years later, was stolen (ironically, as I was having a garage built on the back of my house) and when recovered, was also considered totalled by the insurance company. Lost my next car in a divorce. Bought my convertible then. Last year, in anticipation of the arrival of my daughter, bought a Jetta TDi sportwagon. We have an 8-1/2 month old and live in the middle of a city. It is small enough for the city, yet big enough for everything we might conceivably do (including if we ever have another kid). In the year that we have had it, we have put 5,000 miles on it. I have a Honda S2000 convertible, as well. In the past year, I have put something under 1000 miles on it, including one day, for the race my team co-sponsors, using it as a pace car and logging about 200 miles. Yes, 1/5 or more of my annual miles was one day at a bike race. So, I have bought 5 cars, but never sold one.

I bike to work almost every day, I bike to go shopping, my wife and I both work 2 miles from the house, so even driving to work doesn't put on miles. I haven't decided to sell it, but the case seems more compelling as time goes by.

What's the easiest way that isn't dumb? So, I could presumably go to a Honda dealership and get very little, but not expend much effort. I could likely go the Craigslist route, but may have to put in a fair amount of effort, but might realize the best price. Is Carmax the happy medium?

Thoughts?

Fixed
09-22-2011, 04:40 PM
man those hondas are nice and go for good money in fl.
my son left me his mx-5 while he is away at college( mcgill) fun car
take a vacation come down here and sell it , you can stay at my house
cheers

Richard
09-22-2011, 04:45 PM