PDA

View Full Version : Best Headset?

SouthDowns
09-12-2011, 02:47 PM
Everyone seems to agree that Chris King make the best headsets. If you're trying to save a little money on a build, which headset would you recommend as an alternative?

avalonracing
09-12-2011, 02:48 PM
A Chris King headset on sale. ;)

AngryScientist
09-12-2011, 02:50 PM
for a road bike that doesnt see very harsh environmental conditions, most all headsets are very good.

cane creek makes excellent components, as does ritchey. both can be had very economically.

Nooch
09-12-2011, 02:58 PM
So the appropriate title to this thread would be "Second Best Headset," it would seem :)

I have FSA on both of my cannondales, integrated, and they seem to work just dandy, as does the cane creek on my cross bike..

But then I've never ridden the King, so who am I to judge?

Kontact
09-12-2011, 02:59 PM
As a mechanic, I don't understand what a cartridge bearing Cane Creek S-2 for $40 is failing to do that a 110 or CK would do better. They are well machined and hold the bearings securely, and are relatively well sealed. Not sure what else there is to a modern headset.

I think headset design mattered a lot more when the balls were loose and the headset had a locknut.

gdw
09-12-2011, 03:00 PM
The Cane Creek S-2 is a good all-around headset.
http://www.cambriabike.com/shopexd.asp?ID=11685-Cane+Creek+S+2+Headset

R2D2
09-12-2011, 03:02 PM
As a mechanic, I don't understand what a cartridge bearing Cane Creek S-2 for $40 is failing to do that a 110 or CK would do better. They are well machined and hold the bearings securely, and are relatively well sealed. Not sure what else there is to a modern headset.

I think headset design mattered a lot more when the balls were loose and the headset had a locknut.

I agree.
Cane Creek doesn't make the S-2 / S-6 etc anymore but there are plenty still out there.
BUT they do have 2010 110 on sale for 65.00 on thier website.

dave thompson