PDA

View Full Version : .

cat6
08-29-2011, 07:54 PM
The Gateway District is a large open air retail, residential and office complex in Salt Lake City, Utah, United States. The complex is centered around the historic Union Pacific Depot in downtown Salt Lake City. It currently contains over 105 stores and restaurants.

palincss
08-29-2011, 09:11 PM
I tried friction shifting Hyperglide 8 and found it disappointing due to too many ghost shifts. I am using the same shifters on Hyperglide 7 and love it, no ghost shifts. I believe it's because the difference is the wider spacing of the 7 speed.

Now as to why some in Riv-world prefer 7 speed freewheels, that's a different story having a lot to do with the quest for dishless wheels. Some believe dishless is very important. Others don't care.

Gummee
08-29-2011, 09:21 PM
I started riding on 6sp FWs. Then 7, then 8, then well you get the idea.

IMO the shifts on a 7sp cluster are about perfect IF you're not racing. Them 2-tooth jumps seem about right for JRA.

M

Frankwurst
08-29-2011, 09:26 PM
I friction 9 all the time on my Atlantis, 8 on my RB-T and 7 on an older Riv. It's all good. :beer:

dlbracey
08-29-2011, 09:31 PM
I've run 8 and 9 speed friction without any problems, you do have to be precise with your shifts. I've got a like new 8 speed cassette I could sell you for $20 if you are interested. Good luck with the build. I love my a homer hilsen.

Louis
08-29-2011, 09:43 PM
you do have to be precise with your shifts

I gave up on 9-spd friction for this very reason. I spent too much time trimming. 6-spd is no big deal. 9-spd was a hassle, and retro-grouch that I am, I had to admit that indexed is better. For me. YMMV

bigflax925
08-29-2011, 09:45 PM
I'm all about friction. For me, seven speed (and 8, too) friction is sublime. I like indexing, too; don't get me wrong. But there's just something about the art of friction shifting that I really enjoy.