PDA

View Full Version : LOUD DT Swiss 190 freehub, help! ( I can't hear myself think)

SoCalSteve
08-17-2011, 10:41 PM
Hi all,

I have a feeling there is a simple solution to this very loud ratchet sound coming from the free hub of my DT Swiss 190 rear hub. I know, I know...don't ever coast...

But, will someone ( in simple layman terms, as I'm not so bright ) explain how and where to lube the sucker, please. I'm sure this will quiet it down to a dull roar.

As always, thank you all in advance,

Steve

Marcusaurelius
08-17-2011, 10:47 PM
I had some loud hubs once and the I had some heavy grease put inside with the pawls. I have read somewhere that doing this can void the warranty however it did make the hubs quieter.

Louis
08-17-2011, 11:00 PM
Steve, is it a new or an older used hub?

I have no particular knowledge of DT hubs, so take the following the with requisite amount of salt:

If it's new and free-wheels with little drag I would leave it as is.

If it's seen lots of miles and this sort of thing is typical for DT hubs I would leave it as is.

If it's seen lots of miles and this is not typical I would overhaul the hub from the ground up.

Louis

Kontact
08-17-2011, 11:11 PM
DTs are just loud. You might try Phil Wood Tenacious oil on the pawls, but there isn't a lot to do here.

I appreciate how tough these hubs are, but hate working on bikes equipped with them.

Grant McLean
08-17-2011, 11:53 PM
DTs are just loud. You might try Phil Wood Tenacious oil on the pawls, but there isn't a lot to do here.

I appreciate how tough these hubs are, but hate working on bikes equipped with them.

I don't get these comments. DT sells the Star Ratchet Lube, and a little
bit in there on the ratchet made my set very quiet.
And it takes 3 minutes and no tools. What gives?

-g

fourflys
08-18-2011, 12:01 AM

-g

agree, my 240s are not loud at all... just needs some lube...

fourflys
08-18-2011, 12:04 AM
Hi all,