PDA

View Full Version : OT: Switching Browsers

William
07-08-2005, 03:05 PM
I've gone from Internet Explorer to Safari, and now to Foxfire. I've stuck with Safari for a while since it's Mac based and was easier to use (and I believe MS no longer supports it), plus it came with the system. Over the last couple of weeks I've noticed a slow down in performance. Pages were taking much longer to down load. Then I noticed the couple of websites were able to download cookies even though I was denying them.
Today a tekie friend suggested I try Foxfire which he's been using for a while now (Windows version). Anyway, I downloaded it and have been playing with it for a while. First, pages are loading much faster. The ability to tab pages and have multiple sites open and viewing is cool. It's supposed to be able to block spyware & pop-ups as well. I'm still learning the features but so far, in the short time I've been using it, I like it alot.

Just an FYI.

William

www.firefox.com

musgravecycles
07-08-2005, 03:13 PM
I switched to Firefox last December and have never looked back...

J.M. White
07-08-2005, 03:27 PM
I've used Foxfire for several months and no longer have popup ads; also no viruses! Highly recommended! Just google "Mozilla Foxfire" and download the browser for free. Disclaimer: I am not associated with nor have I been compensated by any owner, agent, employee or affiliate of Mozilla. I just like the product and heartily recommend it.

davep
07-08-2005, 04:53 PM
I use mostly Safari, but have been noticing some slow downs and some sites that it will not display correctly. When that happens I fire up Firefox. Maybe I'll try it more regulalry.

BTW, Safari has tabs and a pop-up blocker too.

Big Dan
07-08-2005, 04:56 PM
Explorer to Netscape to Firefox.....now I'm happy... :D

gasman
07-08-2005, 05:20 PM