PDA

View Full Version : Noisy Pedals....

Onno
08-09-2011, 09:16 AM
I've been cycling on clipless pedals for at least 20 years now, and I'm still irritated by how quickly they get noisy. I've had Looks, DA spd, Time RX, cheap Wellgos, and none of them stay quiet for more than a few months. The noise is almost always from the cleat clicking, creaking, squeaking, which I guess is unavoidable if you are also going to have float. The DAs are the best, I suppose, though I find I need to replace the cleat every 3000 miles or so to keep them reasonably quiet. Have any of you found a truly quiet pedal?

I guess you can tell that I find noises coming from any part of my bike (other than the gentle whir of a well-lubed chain) unacceptable.

false_Aest
08-09-2011, 09:25 AM
lube.

Mike748
08-09-2011, 09:29 AM
Speedplay X

rnhood
08-09-2011, 09:32 AM
Keep your DA pedals, they remain the best option in my opinion. Be sure the cleats are aligned with the pedal when your foot is at its natural pedaling angle. You can twist the cleat to align it, then tighten. Check the tightness of the cleat bolts on occasion as they will sometimes work loose. And, put just a small dab of grease on the front of your cleat where it interfaces with the pedal.

Onno
08-09-2011, 09:57 AM
I have tried light lubricants (chain lubes, soap, Triflow) on pedals and cleats, with only limited success (i.e. they work for a few rides, or less). I've never tried grease because it's so good at attracting dirt, and I assume at some point I'll track it through the house. Do people here regularly put grease on pedals/cleats?

Ken Robb
08-09-2011, 11:08 AM
I have tried light lubricants (chain lubes, soap, Triflow) on pedals and cleats, with only limited success (i.e. they work for a few rides, or less). I've never tried grease because it's so good at attracting dirt, and I assume at some point I'll track it through the house. Do people here regularly put grease on pedals/cleats?