PDA

View Full Version : Road Shoe Questions

beungood
07-06-2005, 04:57 PM
I am new to biking and really getting hooked(just ask E-bay) and have the SPD pedals. I initially bought a pair of cycling shoes(Specialized Taho size 43) that were lower in cost and could be used for MTB and road. I get tingling sensation in the balls of my feet. I am riding from 18 to about 35 miles as much as I can 3 times a week min.

I tried on a pair of 43 Specialized Road comp shoes and they fit like they were designed for my feet. Price is aroun $100. How much differance is there going up to the Specialized Carbon Comp (I think extra 50 or 75). I kind of budgeted $100.00 for road shoes.

Is it worth the extra $$ for the carbon and stiffness at this stage of the game for me? Will I be able to realize the extra gain over the cheaper shoes while im still learning and tuning myself to ride more efficiently?

JohnS
07-06-2005, 04:59 PM
If they fit good, get the $100 shoes and get good socks with the difference in price.

dirtdigger88
07-06-2005, 05:03 PM
a lot of non racers think the carbon soles are too stiff- the suck to walk in worse that normal road shoes-

Jason

scottcw
07-06-2005, 06:15 PM
My Specialized carbon comps are still one of the best biking buys that I have ever made.

Spinsistah
07-06-2005, 08:33 PM
I have Sidi Genius 4 road shoes, just ordered a pair of 5's, they have never given me any problems at all, and they don't have carbon soles. Very, very comfortable.

William
07-07-2005, 05:42 AM
Bro,

Go with the road comps. Spend the extra $$ on something else....bike related of course. :D HA ha ha ha ha ha....I hear you cursing me for getting you hooked on cycling.....Ha ha ha ha ha ..... :D

William ;)

geezohwiz
07-07-2005, 01:30 PM
My Specialized carbon comps are still one of the best biking buys that I have ever made.

Agreed.