PDA

View Full Version : Garmin 800

csm
08-07-2011, 09:16 AM
Just got one. first test will be today. initial thoughts are it is pretty cool. my 11 year old thinks it is way cool and is scheming a way to get one for his bikes.

BAL
08-07-2011, 10:06 AM
Let's us know of your impression of the 800. Did you have a Garmin 705 or is this your first Garmin GPS?

I have been using the 705 for two years and have been thinking about moving up to the 800.

veloduffer
08-07-2011, 10:20 AM
I have the 800, which I upgraded from the 605. I like the touchscreen better than the buttons and faster startup - not huge differences and if you're on a budget, it might not be worth the splurge. Also, the mount is way better than the 605/705; it's the same as the 500.

I use mine with a heartrate monitor too. It's been flawless for this entire year.

djg21
08-07-2011, 12:02 PM
Let's us know of your impression of the 800. Did you have a Garmin 705 or is this your first Garmin GPS?

I have been using the 705 for two years and have been thinking about moving up to the 800.

I just purchased the 800 yesterday. Performance is doing double-points, and as it price-matches too, the bottom line was pretty appealing.

If anyone wants a 705 in good shape, wih all the xtras, I should have one available.

csm
08-07-2011, 12:25 PM
this is my first bike gps. rode with it today. it works. I don't have the sd card city maps yet. so far so good.

Jellybird3
08-07-2011, 09:03 PM
How's battery life been in your experience? I see on Garmin's website, their claimed battery life is 15 hours; however, in my experience with other Garmin devices, they always overstate.

rnhood
08-07-2011, 09:09 PM
How's battery life been in your experience? I see on Garmin's website, their claimed battery life is 15 hours; however, in my experience with other Garmin devices, they always overstate.

Today, I had 8.5 hours for the weekend and my battery indicator was on 43%. I suspect it will get close to 15.

Pyramor