PDA

View Full Version : Joe Friel training?

BFIC
02-10-2004, 11:22 AM
Are there any other Serotta riders here who--like I-- follow Joel Friel's training program (or have thoughts about it)? Comparing notes would be helpful in planning and scheduling workouts.

I promise not to bore the general readership here with training talk; the discussion can move to email.

Richard
02-10-2004, 12:48 PM
When I was really serious, I followed it (from his book, not his online system) and found that when I finally deciphered it, it produced very good results.

dirtdigger88
02-10-2004, 02:40 PM
I try to follow a program based on his books. I am in the middle of base 2 right now. I only try for two peaks a season, since I do not really race, I just love to get faster.

CIII_bill
02-10-2004, 03:53 PM
I am following it this winter. I am doing a combination of weights and riding. It's my first time doing training like this so I don't know what the results are going to be.

I started in Nov. and can tell you that I am much stronger than I was last season.

SManning
02-10-2004, 07:04 PM
I also use Joe Friel for my training. The first year I used it, a friend of mine helped me to decipher it and coached me in order to gain experience to open a coaching business. I had phenomenal results from it last year, I took 15 minutes off of my time for my first time trial. (The previous year, I was in Grad school hell as well, which may have contributed to the poor race time as well as poor training techniques.)

Right now I'm finishing up Base 1, so I'll be a late bloomer this year but hopefully I'll have more energy for the end of the season. The Mtn. Bike season in Michigan starts in April and goes until Iceman on the first Saturday in November.
It's amazing to see how much weight I can lift this year in comparison to last year as well as the increase in training time. My friend is coaching me again this year, which really helps me to understand it and it also safeguards against mistakes.