PDA

View Full Version : Campy users: How often do you replace your rear shift cable?

yzfrr11
06-23-2005, 07:47 PM
I've been getting about 3000 miles per cable before it starts to fray. The interval has been similar on 3 different bikes.

DfCas
06-23-2005, 08:56 PM
About every 4-6 months.I find that the shifting is crisper with new cable and rear housing,and if its tape time I replace all the housing.I use generic cables tho,and they may not last as long as genuine Campy.

dan

Dave
06-23-2005, 09:49 PM
I've been using campy for 10 years and never had a cable fray. Where is the fraying?

I apply some lube to the cables a couple of times a year. Dribble some thin lube, like a 3/1 mix of mineral spirits and oil or a good spray lube like Slick 50 1-lube, down the cable and into the housing, with the bike hanging by the back wheel from a ceiling hook.

I have had one housing failure after only a few hundred miles. Shifting to smaller cogs still worked, but shifts to larger ones became impossible. Replacing the housing fixed the problem.

My next shift cables and housing will be some generic items from Bike Tools Etc. that only cost $20. I usually use campy cables with generic or shimano housing, since campy doesn't sell anything but complete cable kits with brake cables. My brake cables will outlast several sets of RD cables and I suspect the FD cable may last through two RD cables.

William
06-24-2005, 05:13 AM
:p

4 to 6 months sounds about right under "normal"* use. It's amazing how much crisper the response is by changing out the cables regularly.

William

Disclaimer: Normal is as nomal does. What the heck does that mean? :confused:

Too Tall
06-24-2005, 06:37 AM