PDA

View Full Version : Cycling vs (name your other hobbie) - how do you choose your first position?

wooly
06-08-2011, 03:41 PM
I've been cycling consistently for the last 12 years with the exception of two years (2008 & 2009). I had been riding a lot, finished my last century of the year and intended to take a "short" break - which turned out to be 2 years. During that time I re-learned how to surf. Since I live on the coast in Southern Cal I can surf year round and enjoy doing so. But since getting back on the bike last year, I find myself debating whether I should ride or surf. Having three sons, a wife and owning my own business personal time is at a premium. Over the last 6 months, I've fallen back in love with riding and find myself riding more, even if the surf and weather are nice.

Do you guys/gals face the same decisions? How do you choose?

Nooch
06-08-2011, 03:43 PM
Unfortunately my hobbies are Riding and Sleeping. I can never seem to get enough of either, and it's a constant struggle over which one takes precedence in my life.

Eating and Drinking, thankfully, still fall behind those two. Actually, maybe not drinking. Maybe it's a three way tie..

rugbysecondrow
06-08-2011, 03:55 PM
No real formula. Kids, wife, work...everything else files in. I try to ride 3 times a week with one ride of at least 30 miles. I run twice, lift weights 4, swim once. My wife and I both do triathlons, so we just fit it in. Sometimes it is a blur. :)

As for other hobbies, I used to SCUBA, but that is a passive hobbie now, same with windsurfing and skiing.

MattTuck
06-08-2011, 03:57 PM
Well, I'm going to be honest with you, and tell you where you went wrong.

I don't have much sympathy, given that you live in SoCal and can do both of your hobbies year round, without too much hassle. You see, your problem is that you've got two hobbies that both require the same things: energy, decent weather, good health, etc.