PDA

View Full Version : big roubaix style tubulars

bicycletricycle
06-02-2011, 09:17 PM
i have been riding tubulars for 5 years now on a few of my bikes. I mostly ride tufos but i have used conti sprinters and vittoria corsa cx. I have been thinking of trying some bigger comfier tubulars for the crappy new england roads i now find myself on. Something like a 700x25 or 27. Some searching has revealed these options-

Vittoria Pave Evo CG 27mm
FMB Paris Roubaix/Paris Roubaix Pro 27mm
Dugast Paris Roubaix/Paris Roubaix Silk 27mm
Challenge Parigi Roubaix 27mm
Challenge Strada 24mm
Tufo Pro Ride 25mm
Veloflex Roubaix 24mm

I am not very interested in finding the lightest tire but i am much more interested in durability, flat resistance and ride quality. I also don't really like gumwalls but i might get over that for this choice. I have been getting 3000 miles plus out of my tufos s33 tires and rarely get flats and when i do the sealant has worked super well.

Questions.

are there options left out?
does anyone have any strong feelings about any of these tires?
does anyone have a pile of these tires that they are selling for 50% off?

thanks in advance

markie
06-02-2011, 09:34 PM
I had the same dilemma. I ended up getting some diamond pattern Tufo Cyclocross tires. Mine are 32 mm, but I think this year they are only 30 mm.

They worked great, but I wore out the rear in under 2000 miles, but I guess that included a bunch of trail use and skid stops. :)

bicycletricycle
06-02-2011, 09:38 PM
i had a set of those and they wore out real quick, plus the max pressure was really low because they were built for cross use, i guess.

BillG
06-02-2011, 09:42 PM
I currently ride the FMBs on my SS. They are far and away the nicest tubies I've ever ridden. Magic double pile plush carpet. I've had no flat problems at all, but I have a friend who got some flats on his set.

markie
06-02-2011, 09:45 PM