PDA

View Full Version : I Came, I rode, I rode some more. Ride report for 24 hr. Challenge

scrooge
06-20-2005, 04:55 PM
What follows is a very leanghty ride report--skip to the end (before "lessons learned" if you want the gist of it. :D

Well, it finally happened. I’ve been wanting to try riding an event like the National 24 Hour Challenge since I started riding in high school and this weekend I did my first. For some of you who have followed my other posts, you know that I was a bit anxious about this event since I’ve never done anything similar (longest ride this year was 120 miles—not what you’d call “ideal” training). However, thanks to the encouragement of my wife and forum friends, I decided to go ahead and try it out. I figured if I hit 200 miles it would still be a personal best, if I hit 250, that would be great, and if I broke 300, that would be exceptional for a first time effort. Anyway, on to the ride…

The event started at 8:00 AM Saturday so we had to get up at 5:15 to be there in time to register etc. It looked like it might rain a bit, but the weather turned out perfectly: partly cloudy all day, light wind (I believe 5-15 mph from the north), and low 70s during the daylight hours. The field, consisting of 419 riders, hit the road at 8:00 sharp and was sent off by a local bagpipe group (pretty cool!).

Initially I felt pretty good on the first loop, which was 126.4 miles. The first 34, before the first checkpoint, I was in a pack of about 30 riders. I’m not sure what we averaged (I’m pretty sure my computer was on the fritz since it listed my max speed as 154.7mph), but we were clipping along pretty well (I’d guess around 20-21) and it was nice just to suck wheels for a while. I was hoping this would keep up for the rest of the loop, but then we hit the first check point.