PDA

View Full Version : Tubie Newbie - Looking for advice/info/education

tlarwa
05-17-2011, 10:04 AM
Well, I just pulled the trigger on a set of Neuvation C50 tubies as my race-day wheels. Thing is, I have ZERO experience with tubies (always wanted to try them, and now I will!). Since I bought off the used market, the wheels are coming with new tires already glued up, so I should be good for now. But, I have no clue with regards to flats, what to carry with me on rides, etc., etc., etc. Can someone point me to a good thread addressing the ins and outs of tubies, or give me a good education of everything I NEED to know to get started?

Tom

peanutgallery
05-17-2011, 11:06 AM
Duuuude!

If you have to ask, I would highly recommend paying someone at a reputable LBS to do it for you. Second option would be a riding buddy that has experience with this sort of thing. This is for your own safety and those around you, it isn't rocket science but there is a boatload of wives tales, hard and fast fast rules and plain old experience that make them work better and look better upon installation

My second piece of advice is to go ahead and scare up a pair of old rims and a set of new replacement tires. Let them stretch (and age) in a dry, dark place. This will also break you in on the concept of installing a tubular tire on a rim and stretch tires install easier and straighter when you take them in to have them done

Congrats on making the switch

sean
05-17-2011, 11:42 AM
If you do have a local bike shop do it, try and watch. Once you get the hang of it, it's really not that bad. There is also Tufo tape, which is REALLY easy (use the extreme in the orange box). But the downside is that it's a PIA to get off.

Also, a friend of mine at my LBS put this (http://www.mediafire.com/?7rcbo22k298dy26) together. It's a nice step by step.

djg
05-17-2011, 12:26 PM