PDA

View Full Version : hairy legs.

whforrest
05-13-2011, 12:18 PM
i'll be turning 40 this year. since the age of 11 years old i started shaving my legs for racing season. although i have faded in/out of the sport for the last 20 years the times i started riding regularly it was tradition to shave my legs.

well, after all these years i no longer care about shaving my legs, even if i intend to race.

i think it started when i was convincing my wife and 2 daughters about the benefits of leg shaving. however i realized it had more to do with vanity.

on my ride yesterday i noticed a few riders with shaved legs..........i thought to myself, really? you need to shave your legs because you are racing a 20 mile criterium............? yes, ii know the benefits of smooth legs for potential road rash cleaning during a race, daily massages, etc.

maybe its age or the fact i don't really care about that anymore..........i am just so happy to be outside riding my bike, and nothing else matters.

at the end of the day unless i can think of a better reason to shave my legs because of vanity, perhaps i'll stick to shaving my face.

I would be interested to hear other people's perspective.........former racers......riders,

ha ha, i know this is kind of a funny post, but it does come up with us riders.........have a great weekend everyone!

fiamme red
05-13-2011, 12:23 PM
since the age of 11 years old i started shaving my legs for racing season.You had hairy legs at 11?

d_man16
05-13-2011, 12:24 PM
never have... probably never will....I'm far too hairy to get a razor in there

whforrest
05-13-2011, 12:25 PM
too funny, i can't remember that far back, even if i didn't have hair i am sure i still shaved my legs..............i was ready to race

ha ha......!

You had hairy legs at 11?

weiwentg
05-13-2011, 12:27 PM
it was worth it to shave during the couple of years when I was racing. I'm still pretty fast, but I don't shave anymore. too much hair.

Der_Kruscher
05-13-2011, 12:31 PM