PDA

View Full Version : home gyms

Climb01742
02-07-2004, 10:52 AM
does anyone have experience with any of the home gyms you see advertised? like total gym or blowflex or whatever. i belong to a really good gym where i do most of my strength training, but between work, family and weather, having something in the basement (that isn't my trainer :o ) might be nice. any suggestions? thanks.

cycledoc
02-07-2004, 11:39 AM
How much do you want to spend? I did quite a bit of research over 2 years ago, looked at the Bowflex system, as well as many other brands of home gyms and finally went with a Cybex PG400 home gym. I've been using it religeously for over two years and it's a phenomenal system and it gives terrific results (you just have to supply the effort!) On the negative side, the system is quite expensive (lists for $4195) but, as the saying goes, "You get what you pay for." I was able to negotiate a substantial discount from my local fitness equipment shop.

It is heavily constructed, like the machines you find in a health club, compact in foot print and cabled such that it requires very little fussing to switch from station to station--just moving a pin in the weight stack. These were important to me as I plan on this lasting me the rest of my life and I hate fiddling with changing cables, etc.

This product was very favorably reviewed back when I was looking (Google it and you may find some reviews.). There may now be new machines on the market, but the Cybex offers everything I need in a home gym in a well-engineered, and designed, attractive package. You can see product info on the Cybex website (cybexintl.com)

Best of health

schneiderrd
02-07-2004, 12:00 PM