PDA

View Full Version : Attn: Cardiologists/md's

sirroada
06-11-2005, 09:47 PM
I am wondering if I might get a little medical advice. When I was 16 (I am now 30), I was diagnosed with a left bundle branch block and a right axis deviation in my heart following a medical checkup. The checkup was prompted because my younger brother was diagnosed with Wolfe-Parkinson-White. Anyway, I had a stress EKG. Everything came back normal. For many years I forgot I had this arrythmia. Well I have been cycling for the last 5 years at a serious recreational level. I have noticed in the last few years that my heart will occasionally skip a beat. It feels like an engine missfire in my chest. I have no other symptoms (no dizziness, no nausciousness, no chest pain/tightness etc). It usually happens once or twice and then it is gone. It has usually occurred while I am riding in the drops. Occasionally, I will get similar symptoms while at rest but it feels more like a fluttering sensation in my throat/chest than anything else. Anyway, I am concerned because I just had a friend die of "natural causes" and now I finally started worrying about what is going on in my chest. It never used to bother me until now. I have scheduled a CT angiogram, trans-thoracic echo and EKG for this coming thursday. Any of you who are medical doctors feel free to give me your thoughts on what may be going on. Thanks, I appreciate it.

gasman
06-11-2005, 10:06 PM
Wow- That sounds like an awful lot of tests. Somebody you saw must be pretty worried.