PDA

View Full Version : Safe Water Bottles for Kiddos

itsflantastic
04-28-2011, 02:26 PM
Hi Forum,

So I'm a preschool teacher and I have the job of picking out water bottles for every kid to have on the playground this summer (our regular playground is under construction and the temporary one is far from a water source). This means I have to find 90 reasonably priced bottles that can withstand exposure to sunlight w/ out breaking down and being repeatedly put in a sanitizer at night. I'm also concerned about the chemical elements that are proven to disrupt endocrine function - especially in young kids.

Any and all help in this area is appreciated. I figure that you guys are probably the wisest resource on water bottles that I know :)

Cheers!
Dan

sg8357
04-28-2011, 02:42 PM
Kleen Kanteen.

http://www.kleankanteen.com/products/classic/klean-kanteen-27oz-classic.php

Will save you hours of answering questions about plastics.

The 18oz bottle when polished will fit a Blackburn CF cage perfectly.
http://www.blackburndesign.com/cages.html

AngryScientist
04-28-2011, 02:44 PM
stainless will be more expensive, but without a doubt the most "non reactive" material. no matter how good the plastic, leave a water bottle in the sun for a few hours and the water just dont taste right after.

bumknees
04-28-2011, 02:49 PM
perhaps this is being a bit paranoid, but full metal water bottles could be "dangerous" in the hands of bullies or in playground scuffles.

itsflantastic
04-28-2011, 03:08 PM
Not too worried about scuffles. Kleen Kanteen offers 40% off for schools buying in bulk, but it's still about 4x more than the bulk price from Nalgene.
Any other thoughts?

steveo
04-28-2011, 03:38 PM
I second Klean Kanteen

retrofit
04-28-2011, 03:53 PM