PDA

View Full Version : SRAM Rival front shifter super loud... normal?

phcollard
04-27-2011, 09:59 PM
Hi there.

I am sorry I have found traces of answers using the search function but no definitive advice from you experts so I am taking a chance.

So here I am with my brand new Rival stuff: shifters, front and rear der. I kept Shimano for the rest. Installation was pretty easy no kidding. I almost did not touch the rear derailleur and it shifts very smoothly.

The anxiety begun when I tried the front shifter... shifting to big chainring is no problem. Positive and very nice I would say - although a bit hard to actuate. But downshifting to the small chainring is another story. When I first did that it took two very loud "CLUNK" to downshift. So loud I thought the shifter was going to explode!

Also there was no visible trimming. So I slacked the cable a bit and now I can trim (on the big chainring) but it's still very noisy. Is that normal? Granted I have little experience in cycling mechanics but all the Shimano stuff I've had to date was way more silent (6500, 6600, 7800, etc).

What's the cause you think and what's the solution? Should I put back my Shimano front derailleur? Should I change cables? Do I have to soak the Rival derailleur in oil with pixie dust overnight?

Thanks a lot in advance for your wisdom.

Philippe.

vqdriver
04-27-2011, 10:24 PM
It's louder than shimano

Nathanrtaylor
04-27-2011, 10:44 PM
SRAM is loud, unrefined, does exactly what it needs to do move the chain to the next wheel or cog. And nothing else.

In those respects it is the perfect racing groupset. Sounds like it is working as designed.

bkboom123
04-27-2011, 11:16 PM
as a shimano da7800 to sram red convert.....this is normal. Seems strange at first but the stuff just plain works.

I dont do a ton of shifting in the front, but when I do its always a very audible shift.