PDA

View Full Version : Repainting

tailingloop
04-14-2011, 12:42 PM
I have a late '80s Colnago Master that needs a repaint. I'm thinking about getting some estimates from autobody shops. Has anyone gone this route? Positive outcome? Overall less expensive than a frame builder/refinisher?

dbh
04-14-2011, 12:47 PM
I wouldn't do it. If you're not worried about resale value and just need a new finish, look at a powdercoater.

Bauch
04-14-2011, 12:57 PM
I agree that this is not a good idea.

My father has had 3 bikes repainted by Joe Bell and the man just does amazing work. It is well worth the time and money to go with an expert.

David Kirk
04-14-2011, 01:10 PM
I've seen good results and some very bad results.

There are two issues that come to mind. Autobody guys are used to spraying large flatish panels not tubes and the nooks and crannies one sees on a bike. Getting paint into the backside of the BB for instance without overloading the stays takes real practice. It's not impossible of course but they aren't used to it.

The other issue is that a car guy may not know what, where, and how to mask. I've seen BB's so full of paint that they need to be ground out before one can run in some taps to clean out the threads.

I'd talk to the painter with the frame in hand and run these, and any other, issues, by them. If they don't feel confident then you should walk away.

Best of luck,

dave

AngryScientist
04-14-2011, 01:15 PM
i agree that it would really be dependent on the person who's painting it. i would want to talk with them ahead of time and go over the details and their experience level.

i would pass if it's the first frame they're trying to paint, or if they just fluff you off about the details.

Nil Else
04-14-2011, 01:57 PM