PDA

View Full Version : OT Recurve bows

toaster
03-23-2011, 08:26 AM
Something about these older Fred Bear bows that makes me want to collect one or two. Have been watching eBay and it seems a vintage bow with about a 45lb pull is ideal.

I have a Root Field Master that I picked up cheap many year ago and need to get out and shoot some arrows again soon.

old_fat_and_slow
03-23-2011, 09:28 AM
I cut my teeth on an old recurve bow during my idle days as a youth. I think it was a "Ben Pearson" bow. I was never really strong enough to get into the heavy-duty hunting bows that I wanted at the time, (I think I wanted a 55 or 60 lb-pull bow). Then I finally went over to the dark side, and bought a Browning compound bow. While a recurve is certainly sexier, a compound bow is a heck of a lot nicer (and easier) to hold at full draw. I always wanted to get into fletching my own arrows, but then I went to college, had to get a job, and had to move to the metropolis. The old Browning compound bow still sits in the closet waiting to rise again like a Phoenix. (Maybe, someday after I retire to a more rural area, I'll change the string on her, wax her up, and get back into it.) Thanks for bringing back some fond memories from my youth.

flickwet
03-23-2011, 09:53 AM
45lbs should be fine, remember longer is better, less finger pinch and stacking. In Bear check out the Tamarlane and Tartar not hunting bows though. Personally I shoot a Mitchell Bro.s (early Black Widow) target recurve 38#'s, a Brackenbury, the Serotta of hunting bows, 52lbs; and a custom self Longbow (Yew) 45 lbs. However bad rotator cuffs limit my shooting. Never hunt just like to shoot. Have fun

Clydesdale
03-23-2011, 03:38 PM
I have been a traditional archer (mainly longbow) for years and make arrows, strings, etc. I have made a bow or two but that is way too much work - I'll stick with arrows.