PDA

View Full Version : Carbon steerers and Chris King headsets

Dlevy05
03-22-2011, 03:37 PM
Didn't want to hijack the thread about the strength of Carbon, but reading it reminded me that many of us on this board ride with carbon steerers, and even more ride with chris king headsets. That said, should everyone riding this combination of equipment be as scared of steerer failure (due to the CK headset scoring the carbon steerer)?

I've read online (the most reliably unreliable source) that a cane creek fixes whatever problem a chris king creates. Is this also true?

Also, because I've never done so before, and because I can, I'm making a poll. Feel free to participate.

benb
03-22-2011, 03:51 PM
No problems so far.. I've been doing this since 2007.

Now I'm going to want to check it. Thanks a lot. :rolleyes:

akelman
03-22-2011, 03:51 PM
You need another option in your poll: "I have no idea if it's a serious concern, but I'm too lazy to replace the headsets on all of my bikes. So that's that. I'll let you know if I die when my CK headset sheers the carbon fork steerer on my Ottrott while I'm descending this weekend."

akelman
03-22-2011, 03:52 PM
I mean, maybe that's not an answer that's broadly applicable, but I bet more than one person would select it.

T-Crush
03-22-2011, 03:53 PM
I've run pretty much nothing but CK headsets for a long time now, and have had a couple score steerer tubes (both 1 inch and 1.125). What I discovered was the fit between steerer and the ID of the cups is pretty cozy, and if you are reinstalling the cups from a prior installation, it's a real good idea to make sure the tool used to tap out the cup didn't raise a burr on the ID. I've had two that had showed this and it corresponded to the score mark on the steerer tube in both cases. If it happens, a little work with a dremel and all is right again.