PDA

View Full Version : Bike Geometry

biker72
03-22-2011, 12:40 PM
For years I've ridden 60cm Treks....some mid level road....some entry level road. My last Trek was a 60cm 2100 Aluminum frame carbon fork and seat stays. Factory standard geometry.

My newest acquisition is a Custom TI Serotta. I'm a little puzzled with the geometry.
http://graphicfxs.com/SerottaTI.jpg

The Serotta has a 58cm C-C seat tube.
55cm C-C top tube and wheelbase of about 100cm.
Serial# CTI 582578
Full Campy Record 9 speed.

This is without a doubt the best riding bike I've ever had.

With this non-standard geometry should this bike be more or less likely to be unstable at higher speeds? Or have any other problems??

tuscanyswe
03-22-2011, 12:49 PM
I cant really awnser you questions but id be very suprised if the frame had any kind of "problems"

Im a geometry novice but what strike me is that the toptube on the custom serotta you have now is only 55cm. You also seem to have a relative short stem. Your saddle is also pushed very far forward in the clamp. Im thinking your current setup must be very different from your standard 60cm trek?

Im having trouble picturing how you set up your trek to have similar contact points considering how short you have setup your serotta. Maybe this is contributing to your great experience? Not to take away anything from a serotta frame cause im certain the frame do have a great ride!

goonster
03-22-2011, 12:54 PM
Do you still have one of the 60cm Treks you rode previously? Can you post a picture of one, set up the way you ride them?

It's almost impossible to make predictions or draw conclusions about "stability" based on the specs you have posted here. Saddle all the way forward is something I also don't like to see, generally, but that's my problem . . .

biker72
03-22-2011, 12:55 PM
I cant really awnser you questions but id be very suprised if the frame had any kind of "problems"