PDA

View Full Version : Clincher tire rec for Edge 45's?

wooly
03-18-2011, 10:40 AM
I just bought the Edge 45 clinchers (with king r45 hubs) from noonan. Can't wait to get them. I've been running tubeless for about six months but haven;t had a carbon clincher before. Any recommendations on which tires to run? No racing. Ride quality is important. I used to run Veloflex Blacks and liked them. But I've heard that running tires that are a bit tougher to get on is recommended. Don't know if there's any truth to that. Any way, open to suggestions. Thanks much!

leooooo
03-18-2011, 10:59 AM
I've ran gatorskins, gp4, and pr3s on my 45's.

Ride quality for each respective tire was as expected. The rim definitely did not improve or worsen the original qualities of each tire.

No idea about tighter fitting tires are better, but the gatorskins were a pain in the neck to put on. (Got better over time though, probably stretched?)

LegendRider
03-18-2011, 11:14 AM
Conti GP4000s clinchers are the best balance of durability, puncture resistance and ride quality in my experience. Michelin ProRace3 and Vittoria Open Corsas may give a slightly better ride, but they are far more puncture prone. I'd stay away from the Gatorskins - they don't ride well.

Scott Shire
03-18-2011, 01:23 PM
Conti GP4000s clinchers are the best balance of durability, puncture resistance and ride quality in my experience. Michelin ProRace3 and Vittoria Open Corsas may give a slightly better ride, but they are far more puncture prone. I'd stay away from the Gatorskins - they don't ride well.

The above is a spot-on summary of high-end clincher offerings!

Did I see you on Mt. Vernon with a white/grey Catlike? If not, someone up there is riding a Ti Serotta with some very nice form.

BCS
03-18-2011, 02:30 PM
+1. The Vittoria Open Pave should also be considered. I like them more than the Contis in terms of ride quality

oldguy00
03-18-2011, 03:41 PM
+1 again.