PDA

View Full Version : OT: Hilton Head Island vacation

Dave B
03-18-2011, 06:53 AM
I am looking for a bit of guidance regarding a summer vacation with my family. We are looking for two rooms (or more) on or around the 23 to 31st of July.

I lived there several years ago when I was an intern, but we were housed in a crappy hotel, so I didn't get the best lay of the land. i worked in Shipyard and know that well, but if anyone has any advice on where to stay that isn't over the top expensive then I would love to hear more.

I am taking my wife, daughter (6 years old) and mother (67). Close to a beach would be ideal and a pool would be nice.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

xjoex
03-18-2011, 06:57 AM
I spend a lot of time in Kiawah Island not too far from Hilton Head, its a great place to vacation, tons of nature, you can go everywhere by beach cruiser, which they rent by the week, and everything is within walking distance of the beach and a pool. In case you wanted to check out an alternative

-Joe

davidlee
03-18-2011, 06:59 AM
I might be biased since I live here, but I'd come visit Charleston in a flash over Hilton Head.. You could stay out on Isle of Palms and come into D-town at night for food and festivities.
:)
david lee

FlashUNC
03-18-2011, 07:26 AM
Another proponent of Charleston here. If you do make a visit to Charleston, you have to go to Jestine's Kitchen.

The fried chicken is unbelieveably good.

BCS
03-18-2011, 07:35 AM
I might be biased since I live here, but I'd come visit Charleston in a flash over Hilton Head.. You could stay out on Isle of Palms and come into D-town at night for food and festivities.
david lee
+1. Had a great family vacation at Wild Dunes on Isle of Palms last summer.

xjoex
03-18-2011, 08:18 AM
david lee

I totally agree, that is why we go to Kiawah, it is only 30 minutes from downtown Charleston. We hang out at the beach all day and go in for dinner once or twice a week.