PDA

View Full Version : Best tubular tires?

akelman
03-11-2011, 11:31 PM
I'm considering trying tubulars. (Please feel free to welcome me to the club. Or tell me I'm an idiot. Whichever.) If I do, I'm told that I need tires. So what kind of tires should I get? And how should I attach them to the rims? Tape? Glue? The power of my mind? I'm sure there have been countless threads devoted to these questions, but I can't find them. Sorry. And thanks.

akelman
03-11-2011, 11:33 PM
Oh, one more question: how long should I expect it to take me to attach a tire the first time or two? Again, I'm new to this game, so estimate high.

bike22
03-11-2011, 11:53 PM
If you've never glued a tubular before it is worth it to pay someone to do it or have a knowledgeable friend show you how to do it.

oliver1850
03-11-2011, 11:54 PM

akelman
03-11-2011, 11:57 PM
Veloflex?

Louis
03-12-2011, 12:00 AM
"Best" depends on the application.

If you're just trying them out for the first time, then I don't think you necessarily need "the best." A decent, reasonably priced, pair of tires should be good enough for a first try.

akelman
03-12-2011, 12:00 AM
Also, thanks!

akelman
03-12-2011, 12:02 AM
If you're just trying them out for the first time, then I don't think you necessarily need "the best." A decent, reasonably priced, pair of tires should be good enough for a first try.

This is a great point, Louis. But I also want to try something decent enough that I'll give tubulars a fair shake.

oliver1850
03-12-2011, 12:04 AM

bike22
03-12-2011, 12:05 AM
tubular tires for what?

cross racing?
road racing?
road riding?
dirt roads?

none of the above?

akelman
03-12-2011, 12:07 AM
Road riding. Also, thanks to Oliver1850, I just found this thread (http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=80135&highlight=continental+sprinter), which seems to have a bunch of good information in it.

Louis
03-12-2011, 12:15 AM