PDA

View Full Version : how difficult would you rate this century route?

///Mik3
03-02-2011, 01:45 AM
I'm currently training for my first century ride ever in May. I've been training for the past couple months so far, and i'm still kind of nervous how well i'm going to do when the time comes. I'm still relatively new to cycling (basically doing the "weekend warrior" thing for about 8mos so far), so i don't really know comparatively if this would generally be considered an easy, average, or difficult route. So what would you consider it? Right now it seems a little scary to me, because that's a lot more climbing than i've ever done on a ride.

century route
http://www.charlesmichaelphotography.com/temp/tdc_route.jpg

On another note, this is the ride i've been doing recently each weekend for my training. Would you say this is a decent training ride for the route i'll be facing on the century? note, it's actually closer to 77miles cause there are a couple bits missing in the tracking:

recent training route
http://www.charlesmichaelphotography.com/temp/tdc_train.jpg

Louis
03-02-2011, 02:09 AM
I'm hardly an expert at climbing, but I'd say that the century route has a moderate amount of climbing. Not too much, none at the end, but enough to make it interesting.

More importantly, it does have a lot more than your route. If I were you I'd look for training rides with bigger climbs, especially at the 40-60 mark in the ride, so you can better simulate the century profile.

It's tough to tell exactly what the grade is from this sort of profile, but if they are going to have some pretty steep grades be sure that you are prepared for them, both by having the right gears and by knowing what you have in your legs as you approach.

Good luck - centuries give a great feeling of accomplishment, no matter how beat you are at the end.

Fixed
03-02-2011, 02:28 AM