PDA

View Full Version : Any better???

shinomaster
05-23-2005, 03:17 AM
So I got a 130mm stem to replace the 110 I had two weeks ago. I also flipped it over and lowered my position. I still looked a bit cramped in the drops..does my position look any better?? My lower back hurt in the new position. I can't imagine riding on a 3cm longer bike! :crap: :argue:

shinomaster
05-23-2005, 03:20 AM
I look like a amature in the drops....Rats...

1centaur
05-23-2005, 05:29 AM
I'm no expert, but I figured since I stared at these pictures for 5 minutes I would take a shot.

My only standard is what I see on TV or in magazines or catalogs - i.e., mostly pro racers or people in "fit" articles demonstrating the proper position. That says nothing of your flexibility or unique physical traits.

My first instinct was to ask if your saddle was far enough back, but I evolved to thinking the whole bike looks a little small. If I was concerned with how my position looked and that was my only bike choice, I would consider lots of stretching for many weeks, lots of core strength work if I was worried about abdominal support for my back, and working out my position on the trainer for 30 minutes at a time.

If I just wanted to enjoy cycling, I probably would not bother with any of that because your position does not look particularly wrong in the first place.

tch
05-23-2005, 07:17 AM
Drop your stomach towards the top tube. You still have a big hunch in your back, and I think it is the position of your hips on the seat.

...And, I still think your bike looks too small...

Adam
05-23-2005, 09:11 AM
Shino

You are not pivoting on your hips and keeping a neutral spine. Your shoulders are rounded in the drops...

Find your sweet spot on the saddle and pivot on your sit bones so that your hips rotate forward...they are still up and you are slouching as you reach for the bars...

Adam

Dave
05-23-2005, 09:52 AM