PDA

View Full Version : 2009 Specialized Tricross

melonyogloo
02-10-2011, 02:08 PM
I have a chance to purchase a 2009 Specialized Tricross frame at a good price to use as a commuter and do-it-all bike. Anyone has experience with it? Pros and cons? Thanks!

AngryScientist
02-10-2011, 02:16 PM
i have no direct experience, so take this with a grain of salt...

everyone i've heard of with one of these bikes seems to want to change parts out on it or make it into something else. i get the impression that these bikes are a "jack of all trades - master of none". that may be what you're looking for, but before buying i would evaluate what you want to do with the bike, and compare that to what you're getting...

FL_MarkD
02-10-2011, 02:25 PM
I did build up a 2006 Tricross last year as a general do it all and light touring bike. I have some miles on it, but not as many as I would like. My general thoughts are it is a nice ride and the rack mounts and longer chainstays give it a good foundation for light touring.

The 2006 is an all aluminum frame with the carbon fork. I built it up with Ultegra components and Open Pro/Ultegra wheels. I am running 28mm tires and like the softer ride.

I still put most of my miles on my Serotta as it is a joy to ride, but I am planning some overnight rides this spring where the carrying capacity of the Tricross will come in handy.

Mark

Uncle Jam's Army
02-10-2011, 02:42 PM
I bought a 2007 Tricross Expert that I used for commuting to work for a short period of time. It has a nice set of components (ultegra shifters, dura ace rear derailleur, roval wheels) and 32mm tires. It is now relegated to rain bike status with fenders and hardly ever gets used (not much rain in So Cal.).

mcgillicuddy_p
02-10-2011, 02:46 PM