PDA

View Full Version : Fierte or Cannondale R2000 Which one?

vs779
02-03-2004, 04:08 PM
I am new to the rode but have been mountain biking for some time. The question I have is should I go with the steel Serotta with full Ultegra or the stock Cannondale also with full Ultegra? Price wise the Serotta will be about $500 more it is worth the money? Just can't make a decision. How about ride quality of both? HELP!!:confused:

shinomaster
02-03-2004, 04:46 PM
I love my Cannondale as it's super fast, but it's not as smooth as steel. It is lighter however. Everyone has a cannondale though, do you really want to be the next victim of advertizing?
The fierte will not be as light, maybe a pound more heavy but really a pound is nothing. You get more coolness point for having a boutique bike like a serotta. Maybe that is why I bought one. Either way you can not loose...that much.:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

Kurt
02-03-2004, 08:29 PM
The Caad 7 - now optimo (hd tt) is a nice riding bike, but only in lets say >56 - I would vote steel for a smaller size. Big diff in weight, if that matters to you, in a 58 a steel frame will be around 4# and the cdale will be a little more than half. I am selling my cdale frame tomorrow because I am getting a new club frame, another cdale, great riding frame if it fits - climbs like a scalded monkey

shinomaster
02-04-2004, 12:29 AM
I was just riding my serotta (to the store) and I think you should get one. You can always get a cannondale frame on e-bay for $400. Big deal..;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)

vs779
02-05-2004, 05:44 PM
You guys talked me in to getting the Serotta so I called my dealer and placed the order a few minutes later he called me back and said they would not be avail til late March (just my luck). So I guess its back to Cannondale or Trek for now.

Kevin
02-05-2004, 06:26 PM