PDA

View Full Version : OT: Any shooters(pool) in here?

nervexpro55
02-04-2011, 10:39 PM
Was talking with another forum member(old_fat_and_slow) about playing pool and the items that go with playing like cues-tables etc. Anybody out there a shooter and collecter of billiard items? I have been bouncing between collecting bikes and pool cues for about 35 years now. I can see alot of similarities between production-custom bikes and production-custom cues. Just like most people here once you catch the bug you can never get enough. Im not sure what i have more of bikes or cues. One day i will stop the madness, most likely when i die.
Jim

Ken Robb
02-04-2011, 10:58 PM
My garage could hold a LOT more cues than bikes.

97CSI
02-05-2011, 08:10 AM
Had a nice 4x8 slate-top until about 8-9 years ago. When it started turning into my bicycle maintenance work-bench I knew it was time for it to go to a new home. Don't burn many calories during a few games of 9-ball or 8-ball. Especially as one really needs a :beer: or two to play properly.

bikemoore
02-05-2011, 09:25 AM
I spent several years playing on a local bar team in the Busch pool league. Had a really nice McDermott cue and enjoyed playing very much. I really liked the 8-Ball rules of league play. No arguments over whether you called the shot or what the "local" rules were. It was simple: the cue ball must strike one of your own balls first and either the cue ball or any object ball must reach a pocket or a rail. Fail to do that and its a ball-in-hand scratch. That's it. Didn't matter what kind of craziness happened as long as you met that criteria. For the shot on the 8-Ball, you had to put coaster by the pocket that you intended the ball to go in. As long as the cue ball struck the 8-ball first, it didn't matter how the ball got into that pocket.