PDA

View Full Version : RIP Eric Schmidt

firerescuefin
02-01-2011, 09:50 PM
Found out a couple of hours ago that a good friend...and the one that got me into cycling 13 years ago, died today of brain cancer, leaving behind a wife, a 2 month old son, and a hell of a legacy. Eric was an AC-130 gunner and later in his USAF career a B-52 pilot. I have spent the last 2 hours sitting in the dark, sick to my stomach....sad and angry. Eric loved to ride, and lent me both his high end MTB and roadbike when I started riding, kicked my ass often (early on), and loved seeing me fall in love with the sport. Now that's a good man :beer: You'll be missed brother.

rwsaunders
02-01-2011, 09:51 PM
Here's to Eric...it's tough losing a friend.

bkboom123
02-01-2011, 09:58 PM
cycling means so much to each of use, for various reasons......much love.

Cyclng means more to me than the average person

avalonracing
02-01-2011, 10:12 PM
I don't know if it is something that comes with age (I'm 43) but it just seems like I, along with many of my friends, have experienced a lot of loss over the past couple of years. It was nice to be young when it seemed like only old people and strangers passed away.

I'm sorry to hear about your friend and I hope that you and your friend's family do well in his absence.

Fishbike
02-01-2011, 10:13 PM
Peace to Eric, his family and you. Ride on carrying your memories with you.

93legendti
02-01-2011, 10:24 PM
I'm sorry for your loss. I'm sorry for his wife and son.

We had 3 orphans stay with us for a weekend last summer-boy that made me think differently about life. I was emotional the whole time.

Dekonick
02-01-2011, 10:49 PM
I am sorry for your loss.

soulspinner
02-02-2011, 05:24 AM
Hes ok now, take care of yourself and do him proud.

rugbysecondrow
02-02-2011, 06:27 AM
Sorry for your loss Geoff.